Poetic paintings

SOPHIE ALINE PICAUT

When you meet Sophie Aline Picaut, it’s not an artist that you are encountering, but a universe…a creative universe.
It’s in silence where she presents a lucid perspective on life and our behaviors and where she understands, or tries to decipher, the mysteries of human nature. The observation of the beings that surround her, the world and the sky feed her inspiration and her sensitivity.

She doesn’t put any limit on the expression of her reflections and the discoveries that she aims to share through each of her works.

Already a painter as a teenager, she has always preferred the freedom that the modern language of abstract art provides in order to “paint the colors of words and ideas.” She applies layer after layer of acrylic paint like different colored leaves. Then, she engraves the texts of which she is the author, and that inspire the creation of her artworks, into the height of the thickness of the flat areas.

Movement is made through geometric shapes, symbols and occasionally some realistic details that populate the space of her medium or large format canvases. Markings made with charcoal are what characterize and thus assert her paintings. They energetically and rhythmically emphasize the strength of her messages, which are registered one by one like scars, a memory of a lived experience or a vision of others. “Her poetic paintings,” as she likes to call them, are the graphic and chromatic witnesses of a perception of the world and of our way of being.

Peintures poétiques

SOPHIE ALINE PICAUT 

Quand vous rencontrerez Sophie Aline Picaut, ce n’est pas une artiste que vous découvrirez mais un univers… un univers créatif.

C’est dans le silence qu’elle pose un regard pertinent sur nos comportements et la vie et qu’elle comprend ou tente de déchiffrer les mystères de la nature humaine. L’observation des êtres qui l’entoure, du monde et du ciel nourrit son inspiration et sa sensibilité.

Elle ne met aucune limite à l’expression de ses réflexions et de ses découvertes qu’elle cherche à faire partager dans chacune de ses œuvres.

Peintre dès l’adolescence, elle préfèrera toujours la liberté qu’offre le langage moderne de l’art abstrait pour “peindre les couleurs des mots et des idées”. Elle applique une à une des couches de peinture acrylique comme des feuilles de couleurs différentes. Puis, elle grave à la pointe dans l’épaisseur des aplats, les textes dont elle est l’auteur et qui inspirent la réalisation de ses tableaux.

Le mouvement est donné par les formes géométriques, les symboles et parfois quelques détails réalistes qui viennent peupler l’espace de ses toiles de moyen ou grand format. Le caractère de ses œuvres s’affirme dans les traits marqués au charbon de bois. Ils soulignent de manière énergique et rythmée la force de ses messages qui s’inscrivent un à un comme des cicatrices, mémoire d’un vécu ou d’une vision des autres. “Ses peintures poétiques”, comme elle aime les appeler, sont les témoins graphiques et chromatiques d’une perception du monde et de notre manière d’être.